unplanted

on management

2 Comments

Today I sat in an office where people say things like ‘su-per!’ and ‘stellar!’ and ‘weekly regional sales are low!’ Boy–that’s what I had to say. Boy. I’d forgotten how serious retail managers can be. It all seems quite silly to me, and I’ve always looked upon such positions (especially those in the corporate realm) as somewhat unimportant. Sure, I know they’re important. I know that, without the managers there is chaos in retail. But why not? A little chaos would be good, I think. All those folks running around, buying books from wholesalers, selling them to the little people without really thinking about where all that money is going to or coming from. Why the heck not? I vote that, for just one day, we let all the managers take a break (or do whatever it is they do when they’re not telling others what to do) and, for once, let the little people do all the work–all of it. How bad could it be, I mean, really?

Yes, there’s math involved in my new job and it’s made me a little, I don’t know–weird I guess. Luckily, I have a calculator I can use. Luckily, I don’t have to go back til next week.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

2 thoughts on “on management

Leave a Reply

