unplanted

snowed in

Leave a comment

It’s been a very dull day. We got about 4 inches of snow overnight and it sleeted (sleeted? is that a word?) for about half the day today. Needless to say, I’ve been cooped up with my folks, Grandma and the dog. Not too much has gone on.

I wanted to get my grandma to teach me to make the pecan (pronounced PEE-cAn) rolls she makes every Christmas, but we weren’t able to get to the store for the ingredients. Last year she officially retired from her duties as roll baker, but reniged and made them again this year. And I’m oh-so-thankful. It’s just not Christmas without them. Even so, I know that, being 84, it’s not always an easy task for her, so I’m aiming to be the one to uphold the tradition in the years that follow. (That is, if I come out this way for Christmas any more; I’m putting quite a bit of thought into avoiding the whole Christmas thing altogether if at all possible–it’s really got me down).

The best part of the day was when I spent some quality time in the jacuzzi. Nice. The jets drowned out all the noise from the rest of the house and, for an hour or so, there was only me. It was truly blissful.

The sun was out for a brief while this afternoon, but not nearly enough to melt the snow and ice. I’m hoping for a warm(ish), sunny day tomorrow. My flight leaves at 6am on Tuesday and the airport here is a tiny one (one runway, no tower). If you read this in time, send warm, sunny vibes my way.

I’ve been reduced to blogging about the weather. Great.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

