unplanted

numerical ponderings

2 Comments

Maybe it’s all the numbers I’m inundated with at work. I run the numbers. I receive numbers. I fax numbers.

I’m always faxing numbers.

Or maybe it’s all the press about the Tsunami victims–a barrage of casualty tallies, dollars-worth-of damage.

Maybe it’s the article I read in The Seattle Times yesterday (or was it this morning?) that suggested that we are less interested when numbers (of casualties, dollars, etc) are reported to be smaller than we were originally told.

I don’t know what it is, but lately I’ve noticed everything is quantifiable. Numbers matter to people. We care about how many inches of snow fell (even long after it’s all melted). This morning Cyndi and I were careful to ration the snow so that we can make two snowpeople (we don’t want the one to be lonely).

I have to be at work in less than 10 hours.

I will leave work 1 hour early tomorrow.

I need to remember to stop by the ATM and withdraw $50.

My student loan is 38 days past due. (It’s okay–I’m applying for a deferment.)

I tripled the amount of spices in the curry I made for dinner tonight (and, with a touch of brown sugar, managed to make it pretty darned close to the curry I had at Cedar’s last night. Thanks again, Ant, for a great evening!).

This week I begin my 6 day schedule.

I’ll have health insurance in 21 days.

My car has almost 80,000 miles on it (which means I should really get the belt replaced soon and take it in for a checkup).

Charlie and I want a 2 bedroom/2 bath apartment. It’s imperative that we have 2 bathrooms. We’re willing to pay $900 for 1 month and hope to get a place that has at least 1100 square feet.

I sent out 3 resumes today.

My nephew has called me 5 times in the past week. A couple weeks ago he called 10 times in one night.

Krystal is due to have her baby in 3 weeks. (Or is it 2??)

A management position would get me a 20% salary increase.

Health insurance will (hopefully) save me $200 a month.

I hope to have an apartment in 4 weeks.

I washed 2 loads of laundry today (but should have done 4).

It is 68 degrees in here.

It’s taken me 10 minutes to write this blog.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

2 thoughts on “numerical ponderings

Leave a Reply

