unplanted

hubba bubba

Leave a comment

I’m not usually one for going to the movies by myself. As long as I have a book or my laptop with me, I feel pretty comfortable in most social arenas, but there’s just something about being in a theater and reacting to the same thing, at the same time, with *strangers*. And even though I do usually have a certain sort of-ahem-weirdness about movie theater seating wherein I like to have one seat between me and whoever’s with me, I do like having someone to talk with immediately after the credits are done (and yes, sometimes before they’re done; there’s nothing necessarily wrong with that).

But then there are times when the theater serves as a good enough hideaway, even if it’s more temporal than I’d like it to be. And then there are the times when there’s a really good flick to boot. This was one of those times. Saw “Beyond the Sea” this evening and loved it. It’s a real magical piece about my boy Bobby Darin. I didn’t expect too much out of it–mostly went for the spectacle of Darin’s music and Kevin Spacey’s directing and singing (neither of which was too shabby). I got sucked in so far I forgot I was alone, forgot I was in a theater for that matter. But now–now I wish I’d gone with someone. I got so fired up about a few scenes I wish I had someone to talk with about it all. There were some scenes that were so magical that they gave me a pretty heavy duty twinge. I’m still trying to process it all, and I don’t really know what I’m babbling on about here.

To simplify: Weekend here. Good. Got time to self. Write. Play. Pay bills. Kim like day off. Kim need bad. Kim go sleep now. Stay in bed late tomorrow. Urgh. Kim stop blog now.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

