unplanted

that’s some friend

Leave a comment

Couldn’t sleep last night. I blame that on the fact that I slept til almost 11 yesterday. But it was oh-so-nice to be able to do that. I’m not much of a sleeper inner, but when the opportunity is there, well, I tend to take advantage.

So anyway, last night I piddled around upstairs long after Cyndi had gone to bed and before Charlie got home. Screwed around on line, just did the ol’ this n’ that sort of thing. Then, somewhere around 3, I guess, Charlie came in, which was somewhat of a disappointment as I was really enjoying having the night to myself.

But none of this has anything to do with what I wanted to tell you about. Picture this: I’m sitting at the kitchen table in my jammies and in roars his motorcycle into the garage. Suddenly I realize what time it is and I think about heading downstairs before he comes in, just to avoid the inevitable post-Spot conversation. Instead, though, I sit there, screwing around online (I think I was actually reading something at bored.com at the time). Charlie comes in, and, in my sleepiness, I ask him how his evening was. This question, as most of you know, usually ends in some sort of tale that, well, is generally quite strange. And by strange I mean strange in a kinky sort of perverted sort of way. (Dare I say ‘ginger butt plug’?) You get my drift.

So the conversation went a little something like this:

K: Hey.
C: Hey. (fifteen second pause) You’re up late.
K: Yeah. Couldn’t sleep.
C: You’re my mom’s best friend.
K: No I’m not.
C: Yes you are.
K: No I’m not. Anne is.
C: Yeah. Okay. Did you watch the rest of the game with her?
K: Yeah.
C: Who won?
K: UNC.
C: That’s good. That’s who you wanted to win, right?
K: Yeah. They’re the ones publishing my story. I figure I should pull for them.
C: Yeah.
(long pause as Kim crops a photo of eggs and Charile eats a slice of cold pizza)
K: So how was your evening?
C: Alright, I guess. (Makes puppet head shape with hand and points to bottom thumb knuckle.) I got my hand this far inside my friend Laura.
K: Oh. You’re a good friend.
C: I guess.
K: She like it?
C: I guess.
K: Hmm.
C: Well, I’m going to bed. ‘Night.
K: ‘Night.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

