unplanted

another one of those big fat non-stop days

Leave a comment

My problem is that I stayed up way too late last night, switching back and forth between reading Jane Hamilton’s A Map of the World and writing. I’ve been doing this weird thing the past few days in which I journal in second person. It’s a fascinating experience, if only to myself. I can’t believe how much easier it is for me to tap into stuff, to process things that I’d normally just plot on paper without reflecting on. You ought to try it sometime. Yes, I’m talking to you.

My problem is that I’d rather go play. I’m not sure why I’m taking this little break from work. I’ve been going non-stop since I got here a little after nine and will continue to do so until 7 this evening or when my last student walks out the door, which ever comes first. I brought my thermos AND my big ol’ cup filled to the brim with too-weak coffee this morning. Drank it all, regardless. Now I have to pee. But I shall not waste my time with such trivial things, for I have a bladder made of iron. (Besides, I think all the salt from the $.50 Budget “Gourmet” meal I just had is soaking up all the liquid in my body. There’s leftover chicken in my fridge, but did I even think to bring that to work? Of course not. I tapped into my emergency rations for lunch.) Hey–ever notice there’s no cents sign on keyboards anymore? Where’d it go? Hmmm…

My problem is that I’m rambling. And in 10 minutes I’ll have another conference and I’ll have to concentrate and act smart. So what time is it, kids? That’s right: It’s caffeine time!

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

