unplanted

ugh–trivialities at work

1 Comment

Yesterday I had a bad experience at work. Basically, in the midst of being a micro-manager, the person i work for made me mad. We had a bit of a tiff, or what I would see as a tiff (I don’t know how she viewed it). And I haven’t been able to get over it, even nearly a full day later. So I figured I’d write about it. Anyway, here’s how things went down:

Her: Did the proposal* go out?
Me: Yes.
Her: Oh. I didn’t see it…
Me: I didn’t think you needed to.
Her: Of course I wanted to. Why wouldn’t I? I still want to see it.
Me: Okay.
(*the proposal is something I’ve been working on with others; the person i work for hasn’t seemed interested in it at all. i could say more here, but i won’t)
Anyway…
Her: And I haven’t been getting the email you’re sending to the staff. You need to check the distribution list.
Me: I never knew you wanted to get every little email I send to staff.
Her: Are you KIDDING? I’m still THE DIRECTOR!
Me: Okay. I’ll add you to the list.

Looking back on the dialogue, I realize there’s not much to get all pissy about. She’s a self admitted control freak, so I shouldn’t be surprised that she wants to see everything I do. The thing is, she’s been out of the picture, working on other things for so long I’ve kind of gotten used to doing stuff without her and have assumed that she doesn’t care too much about what I do with the staff. (Or, rather, that she trusts me enough to let me have some space.) So here’s how I interpret the whole thing: She was having a controling moment, feeling out of the loop and found something that could draw her back in (all of this unconsciously, of course and without any ill-will.) She’s playing the role of Big Brother. I don’t like that. I mean, why does she need to see every email I send to our staff? Really. It’s quite ridiculous.

So there. I think it’s out of my system. I’m sorry you had to read this.

I need more coffee. It’s Wednesday.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

One thought on “ugh–trivialities at work

Leave a Reply

