unplanted

leash that thing

2 Comments

Dear Lady in the Park,

I hate that we didn’t get a chance to talk today. There’s a few things I would like to have said to you. For one, I’d tell you that the park we were in has a leash law, as does all Seattle dog parks. And I would have told you that you should keep your dog on a leash, rather than playing fetch with it while your toddlers wander around out of your sight.

I would have told you, too, that my dog wasn’t barking at yours, that Petey wasn’t showing signs of aggression, but instead was whining and wagging his tail because he was excited and wanted to play. And I would have pointed to the fact that your dog (who I will refer to as Puntable) was baring his teeth and had his hackles raised–certainly signs of aggression. So I put Petey on a short leash, got between him and Puntable and tried to calm Petey as Puntable snarled and came closer. Meanwhile, you lollygaged, unsure whether to retrieve Puntable or tend to your kids. A tough choice, I’m sure, but one that wouldn’t have to be made had you had your dog on a leash in the first place.

I’m telling you all this because, as a good citizen, I keep an eye out for other dogs, especially those off leash, who might put Petey in an uncomfortable situation. I keep Petey on a leash–always.

Now I’d like to remind you that this has nothing to do with the fact that Petey’s a pit bull. This is about abiding by the law, keeping yourself, your dog and your children safe. This is about being polite, plain and simple, sharing a community space with others in a mutally respectful way.

Thank you in advance for changing your stupid, stupid ways,
Kim

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

2 thoughts on “leash that thing

Leave a Reply

