unplanted

Oprah Winfrey is a damn fool

Leave a comment

Never try to write and watch TV at the same time.  I should know better.  I like the background noise, the randomness of looking up to catch a clip of this or a snippet of that when I’m paused to think about what to write.  And the remote tends to stop on whatever looks interesting but not necessarily engaging.

Enter Oprah Winfrey.  There’s a segment on about dogs, something about training dogs that seemed, at first, at little interesting.  As you may already know, I have this dog named Petey.  And I’m pretty interested in training him.  Now I’m not one to do whatever Oprah tells me.  I don’t pull my fat around in a red wagon or dis the beef people.  And I don’t go stamping my name on books so other people will read them.  So I’m not about to get my top ten dog training tips from her.  

But enough justifying my bad TV habits. 

Short story shorter: The show was about particularly bad dogs who need a little discipline, and Oprah invited ‘the horse whisperer’ over to meet her dog Sophie who’s cute as the dickens but a bit of a bitch.   So what’d Oprah do?  She invited this guy to bring over ‘a whole pack of dogs, including a pit bull’ as a way to showcase her little Sophie’s new behaviors.  Including a pit bull?  Hello-o?  

I’m super-sensitive to this sort of thing now.  The stigma surrounding these poor dogs is way too big, and for Oprah to stigmatize them even more–well I’m pretty darned tempted to write her a letter.  But I know she wouldn’t read it because she’s Oprah and I’m just Kim.  

So Oprah, if you’re reading this (and I know you aren’t), go whack yourself in the head with a yappy dog.   You’re feeding into the myth that pit bulls are bad.  And you (unfortuantely) have too many idiots tuning in and taking heed to everything you say and do.  Go back to your whiny little dog , your fried chicken, your perfect eyebrows and your forty-seven houses. 

And leave my dog alone.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

