unplanted

as the sun sets over the hills, kim thinks some more about her teeth

4 Comments

There’s a gorgeous sunset tonight.  From here I can just see the sky turning a deeper and deeper pink behind the black silloutes of the firs across the street.  If I knew I could catch it (and if I wasn’t already in my pj’s), I’d hop in the car and head over to Golden Gardens for a lengthy glimpse.  

Today began with a nap, a perfect way to kick off a Sunday.  And after a second waking, we headed down to Carkeek for a long walk in the hot sun.  I let Petey bounce around in the creek a little.  It doesn’t take much for his puppiness to come out.   But all good things must come to an end.  And for Petey, a perfectly good day concluded with a bath.  

Two days have passed since I was last at work and I haven’t written a thing (save for this oh-so-boring post).  I need more time.  And I think I’m going to take it.  There’s still about five weeks before school starts again, no real reason I shouldn’t take vacation.  So I’m thinking about a week off.  But I get kind of antsy about having that much time off without anything being planned.  But if I promise myself that I’ll write–really set some goals–I just might set myself up for a relaxing yet productive week.   How cool could that be?  

But (and isn’t there always a but?)…here’s the thing:  I’m still not sure about the whole Wisdom Teeth Saga.  My insurance will pay for the surgery, sure, but they won’t pay for the anesthetic (yes, I know it’s ridiculous and yes, I’ve checked to make sure this is true and no, I don’t know what the logic is behind it).  So rather than forking over nearly a thousand bucks just so I can be put to sleep for thirty minutes, I just might choose to pretend this whole thing never happened, that these extra teeth in my mouth don’t really exist.  

Now I know what you’re thinking:  Why not just get some laughing gas or Valium?  Sure, it would save me quite a few duckets and allow me to get the whole thing over with in the next few weeks.  But, well, I guess I’m just a little bit uneasy about having someone digging around in the bones my mouth while I’m awake.  And there’s this nerve.  Did I tell you about the nerve?  The doc’s afraid he might–just might–damage it.  And if that happens I’ll loose the feeling in my chin.  It’s not too important to me that I have feeling in my chin.  What kinds of things do I need to feel there?  Hot soup?  So I’m not worried about that.  What I am worried about is the possibility of having a nerve damaged while I’m awake.  Just doesn’t appeal to me.  

So there’s this whole conundrum:  have teeth removed during break, take time off so I can hang out chipmunk-cheeked and sad (and possibly numb-chinned) or forget about my teeth and take a week off to write.  

I’m leaning towards the latter.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

4 thoughts on “as the sun sets over the hills, kim thinks some more about her teeth

Leave a Reply

