unplanted

holy trinity, lionel richie!

Leave a comment

You know how things always come in threes?  And you know how the completion of a trinity, when that last thing comes about, when the last of three things happens, some sort of meaning is made or something is realized? Or, if you’re a genie, you just pack up and go home.

Lots of recipes begin with the ‘holy trinity’–carrots, onions, celery.  (I tend to substitute bell pepper for the celery–never much cared for the celery.)

There’s the whole God/Jesus thing, which, honestly, I still don’t understand.  Father and son?  What’s up with that?

Act one, act two, act three.  Rock, paper, scissors.  First, middle and last names.  Day, month, year.  Wash, rinse, repeat. Coffee, tea or me.  Moe, Larry, Curly.  Ketchup, mustard, mayonaise.  Coke, Diet Coke, Coke Zero (whatever that is).

You get it, don’t you? 

Anyway, I was getting my hair cut today and the hair cutter chick started talking about Lionel Richie–I can’t remember what song sparked our conversation.  We reminisced on one of the creepiest music videos ever, you know, the one where that blind girl is making a sculpture of Lionel’s head, and she said something about how he’s probably off being rich and ‘doing it to Nicole Richie.’  (It should be known that the hair cutter only sort of cut my hair; she didn’t really cut it, she just sort of did something to make it look exactly the same, only a little bit shorter)

So that happened.

Then I was at Nicole’s house (no, not Nicole Richie) and she was playing some 80’s music, you know, to get the mood right before we settled in to watch The Karate Kid.  And ‘We are the World’ started playing and there, clear as day, was Lionel’s voice.  So, once again, I found myself in coversation about the curly-haired fellow I was never really fond of.

And then I was in the HD Market (which is like a low-rent Asian food megamart) and they were playing a Lionel Richie cd.  I know it was a cd because I heard more than one of his songs.  And, of course, ‘Hello’ was one of the songs.  

I’ve been searching for the meaning in these three events, but the best I can come up with is this:

Three wrongs just don’t make a right.

 

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

