unplanted

note to self: don’t answer the phone

Leave a comment

Finally, tonight, I found my entry point. I don’t know if this is the beginning of the book–at this point it doesn’t really matter. It was starting to flow pretty well. And then the phone rang. Of course, on the night it starts flowing, of course I forgot to turn the ringer off.

No matter. I had a sort of epiphany tonight. Nothing huge, really, but enough to keep me going. It’s about overlap. I think back on earlier drafts and I see that some of my strongest scenes begin at the end of action, and they move into another scene. (I’m thinking, for example, of Mattie on the ladder in the orchard as an entry point to her leaving the orchard at the end of the day.)

I’ve been drawn out of my writing for tonight, but only after I got a good page down, enough for me to know where I am going and how to get there.

Author: Kim Sharp

more later

Leave a Reply

